

THE SAN ANTONIO AFL-CIO 2020 ENDORSEMENT OF CANDIDATES FOR THE NOVEMBER 3, 2020 ELECTION

Please note, some endorsements were made at the state level and federal level of the AFL-CIO

FEDERAL RACES	ENDORSED CANDIDATE
President/Vice President	Joe Biden/Kamala Harris
US Senator	Mary MJ Heger
US Representative – District 20	Joaquin Castro
US Representative – District 21	Wendy R. Davis
US Representative – District 23	Gina Ortiz Jones
US Representative – District 28	No Endorsement
US Representative – District 35	Lloyd Doggett
TEXAS RACES	ENDORSED CANDIDATE
Texas Railroad Commissioner	Crysta Castaneda
Chief Justice Supreme Court	Amy Clark Meachum
Justice Supreme Court, Place 6	Kathy Cheng
Justice Supreme Court, Place 7	Staci Williams
Justice Supreme Court, Place 8	Gisela D. Triana
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4	Tina Clinton
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9	Brandon Birmingham
Member, State Board of Education, Dist. 5	Rebecca Bell-Metereau
State Senator – District 19	Roland Gutierrez
State Senator – District 21	Judith Zaffirini
State Senator – District 26	José Menéndez
State Representative – District 116	Trey Martinez Fischer
State Representative – District 117	Philip Cortez
State Representative – District 118	Leo Pacheco
State Representative – District 119	No Position
State Representative – District 120	Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
State Representative – District 121	Celina Montoya
State Representative – District 122	*Claire Barnette – Recommendation to TX AFL-CIO
	for endorsement.
State Representative – District 125	Ray Lopez
Chief Justice, 4 th Court of Appeals	Rebeca Martinez
District Judge, 37 th Judicial District	Nicole Garza
District Judge, 144 th Judicial District	Michael Mery
District Judge, 386 th Judicial District	Jacqueline "Jackie" Valdéz
District Judge, 399 th Judicial District	Frank J. Castro
District Judge, 407 th Judicial District	Tina Torres
COUNTY RACES	ENDORSED CANDIDATE
Sheriff	Javier Salazar
County Tax Assessor-Collector	Albert Uresti
County Commissioner, Precinct No. 1	Rebeca "Becky" Clay-Flores
County Commissioner, Precinct No. 3	Christine Hortick
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 2	Roberto Robby Vasquez
Constable, Precinct No. 2	Leticia R. Valdez
Constable, Precinct No. 4	Kathryn Brown
Alamo Community College District Trustee No. 9	Joe Jesse Sanchez

The following candidates received our endorsement and are running unopposed.

They have been declared "elected".

STATE

State Representative, District 123 - Diego Bernal

State Representative, District 124 - Ina Minjarez

District Judge, 57th Judicial District - Antonia "Toni" Arteaga

District Judge, 73rd Judicial District - David A. Canales

District Judge, 131st Judicial District - Norma Gonzales

District Judge, 166th Judicial District - Laura Salinas

District Judge, 379th Judicial District - Ron Rangel

District Judge, 408th Judicial District - Angelica Jimenez

District Judge, 438th Judicial District - Rosie Alvarado DEM

COUNTY

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 2 - Justin Rodriguez

Constable, Precinct No. 1 - Ruben C. Tejeda

THE FOLLOWING BALLOT MEASURES HAVE BEEN ENDORSED

VOTING "FOR" THESE BALLOT MEASURES WILL NOT RESULT IN AN INCREASE IN SALES TAX

CITY OF SAN ANTONIO - PROPOSITION B READY TO WORK SA WORKFORCE PROGRAM FOR JOB TRAINING AND SCHOLARSHIPS, A REALLOCATION OF AN EXISTING SALES AND USE TAX RESULTING IN NO NET TAX INCREASE

<u>ADVANCED TRANSPORTATION DISTRICT - PROPOSITION A</u> (Previously Created with Voter Approval by VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority)

Respectfully submitted,

Rachel A. Cavazos Recording & Corresponding Secretary